About the Series

2019/2020 is a huge year in the Sevens calendar!

Ten stellar series destinations for the men’s series, six of these including the women, will build excitement ahead of the Olympic Games in Tokyo in July 2020. This promises to be a huge event as the New Zealand men’s and women’s teams seek to win gold.

HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series (Men)

The HSBC World Rugby Sevens series consists of 10 tournaments held around the world, in which national sevens teams compete for series points at each round.

An overall champion is crowned at the end of the season based on points accumulated throughout the 10 events, from the opening round in Dubai in November to the final round in Paris in June.

There are 15 ‘core’ teams who participate at each round of the series. The 16th team is an invitational team.

Since the 2012-13 season a promotion and relegation system from the series came into effect, and last season Japan were promoted and Portugal relegated.

HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series (Women)

The women’s sevens series takes place in six global destinations in 2019. This series will be the seventh for the 11 core women’s teams with the 12th team at each round being an invitational team.

The HSBC World Rugby Women’s Sevens Series gives leading rugby players across six continents the chance to experience global, elite level, high-performance sevens competition and coupled with the spike in interest after the Olympic Games, the series has sparked significant growth in the women’s game with increased appetite for broadcast, live streaming and social media. 

Qualification to become a core team takes place in Hong Kong in April. Japan were relegated from the 2017 Series and China qualified as a core team for 2019.

Enter your email address

Sign up to receive ticketing and event information for 2020.