About the Game

There’s only one place where a group of super heroes can cheer on a Fijian winger throwing a no-look pass.

It's fast and furious

HSBC New Zealand Sevens will see 16 of the world’s top men’s rugby sevens nations and 12 of the world’s top women’s rugby sevens nations split into four pools for two days of non-stop action.

Play on the first day of the tournament consists of pool matches on a round robin basis. Points are awarded for wins, losses and draws and go towards each team’s final points tabulation.

How does it work?

  • Following completion of all the pool matches in day one, the first and second placed teams in each pool progress to the Cup Championship.

  • The third and fourth placed teams of each pool progress to the Bowl Championship.

  • These games are played on day two and all teams are moved into a knockout phase.

  • The winners of each game move into semi finals and then finals.

  • The winner of the Tournament is the team that has moved through all their games on day two with no losses.

Each team is made up of 12 players; seven on the field during the match, with a reserve bench of three.

Each game runs for two x 7 minute halves with a 2 minute half time; the final game of the tournament is 2 x 10 minute halves.

Stay up to date with the LIVE results during the tournament.

The winner of the New Zealand leg of the World Series wins the local tournament Cup.

Enter your email address

Sign up to receive ticketing and event information for 2020.